NZ win third Test to clinch Windies series

Attacking captaincy from Brendon McCullum and an inspired bowling effort have carried New Zealand to a Test series-clinching win over the West Indies.


The Black Caps won the third Test in Bridgetown by 53 runs on Monday after dismissing the hosts for 254 on a tense final day, handing them a 2-1 series victory.

It is their first offshore series win against any tier-one opponent since their only other triumph in the Caribbean, when they won 1-0 in 2002.

McCullum set the tone by declaring overnight at 7-331, leaving man of the match Kane Williamson unbeaten on 161.

It handed the West Indies a sniff of victory, although reaching 308 off 98 overs was always going to be a challenge on a deteriorating Kensington Oval pitch in Barbados.

It proved beyond them as seamers Trent Boult and Tim Southee snared three wickets each, as did offspinner Mark Craig, who completed a memorable debut series.

The other wicket fell to seamer Neil Wagner, who claimed four scalps in the first innings.

Boosted by overcast conditions, left-armer Boult dished out the early damage, removing Kraigg Brathwaite and Kirk Edwards cheaply before Southee claimed the key wicket of opener Chris Gayle for 11, bowled off an inside edge.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Darren Bravo added 50 for the fourth wicket before Craig lured Chanderpaul down the pitch to complete a notable dismissal.

It is the first time in 155 Tests that Chanderpaul has been stumped.

It also provided Black Caps wicketkeeper BJ Watling with his first stumping, having previously claimed 73 Test catches.

Three wickets fell in the first session and four in the second, with New Zealand’s progress stymied by two short breaks for rain.

Stubborn tailend resistance on a pitch offering variable bounce threatened to save the Test for the hosts.

Jason Holder and Shane Shillingford survived more than 22 overs before Craig struck, bowling Holder between his legs on 52.

Wagner removed Sulieman Benn and Boult trapped No.11 Jerome Taylor lbw, securing victory with more than 13 overs to spare.

New Zealand won the first Test in Kingston by 186 runs but suffered a 10-wicket loss in the second Test at Port of Spain.

The tour concludes with Twenty20 internationals in Dominica on Saturday and Sunday.


2014 – West Indies 2-1 (3 Test series)

2002 – West Indies 1-0 (2)

1999 – England 2-1 (4)

1986 – England 1-0 (3)

1985/86 – Australia 2-1 (3)

1983/84 – Sri Lanka 2-0 (3)

1969/70 – Pakistan 1-0 (3)